Which view type to recreate camera from legend of zelda n64 + lock-on?

kentreva

In loz n64, the camera has 3 main behaviors.
1) The camera will auto rotate in the direction player is moving. (there is noticeable drag) Click for demo.
2) Pressing the 'z' button, will align the camera to the character's forward direction. Click for demo.
3) When locked on to an enemy, the camera rotates to always face the enemy. Click for demo.

My initial approach
I was planning on using the 3rd person Combat view type + editting the aim assist script because a friend suggested it, but after playing with the demo, it it's hard to tell which View Type I should use because the mouse is always active, and it controls the camera.

I'm not very experienced coder so really appreciate what View Type mimics this behavior and if there is none, what is the best way to go about this?

The Aim Assist script in the demo only seems to aim when the cursor goes over the Enemy, but I would like to trigger it when an Enemy is in the camera view if that makes sense. How would I go about doing this?

Thank you so much for the help!

For 3, I've also noticed the Aim Assist for opsive only keeps the Enemy locked on to the center of the screen. See here
In loz, the camera lets the lock on target anywhere on the screen, not just center. See here

This will take a new View Type:

I would start with the Adventure View Type and then start to modify from there.

For Aim Assist currently does only aim in the cursor location so this will also take some modification to that script.

Ok we looked into the docs and found out that Requirement 2 and 3 can be abilities.

We just want a view type that mimics Requirement 1: camera has to rotate in the direction character is moving.
The RPG view type seems to do this. Is there a reason why you suggested Adventure view type instead? Sorry I'm so confused which to pick. : (((