UIS as difficult as it seems?

Flibble

Hi all,
First off, I'd like say that UIS does look awesome, it's obviously well coded and has lots of love and LOTS of functionality so don't get me wrong here :)

Is this thing as difficult as it seems to get the hang of? I've previously used a couple of other inventory assets, now sadly deprecated and within a day or two I've had what I need up and running for the most part, even Inventory Pro which was fairly comprehensive and not exactly new-user friendly.
I'm struggling to get things working here as I find it really hard to follow the inner workings (I'd say I'm an intermediate coder just about).
I do struggle with taking in tutorials which doesn't help but always seem to get stumped on something that's obviously a simple fix if you know what you're doing but spend days hunting through endless hierarchy/string ID's/slotSets/itemSlotSets/itemViews/viewSlots/etc etc.
My need was a shared Inventory shared by an (RPG) party of four characters but who each have their own Hotbar and Equipment.
Would this seem fairly simple to set up and I'm just not "getting it" yet, or will it be a pain to set up and I should abandon ship now (with no hard feelings)?
Thanks!

Hi Fibble,

I'm sorry to hear you are struggling with UIS. It is massive and does have a steep learning curve. Sometimes systems just click with some people and not with others, it's a question of having a similar way of thinking. There0s never a single way of making something work, there are always infinite ways to approach these sort of big systems. So it's a good thing you contact us here when you get stuck rather than spending hours trying to figure something on your own.

In your case, you say you want to have a single Inventory and multiple characters. (fun annecdote that's how UIS started in the early prototypes).