Combine Items inside the inventory.

Egnech

Hello!

I’m new to UIS, and so far I’m very impressed with it.

I want to have a similar to classic Resident Evil games inventory system, where player can combine special items inside the inventory itself, and not with the special crafting screen. I think this video will explain the idea better.

I think I can take MoveItemAction as an example, and some how override “on drop” action. But this already requires more deep knowledge of the system than I have now. Maybe you can suggest me where to look next?

I'm convinced some one asked the same questions a few months ago and showed it working, but I can't seem to find the forum post about it anymore.

But you are right looking at the MoveItemAction and drag and drop actions is the correct way to do it. The way the Move Item Action works is by getting a component on the UI which disables the next action and instead does something else (in this case move the item).

I would suggest you copy paste the Move Item Action code and then make the necessary modifications to make it work. I'm afraid there isn't an easy way to do this. it will require you to learn how the ItemViewSlotContainer and the Crafting system works. The source code is fully commented so you should be able to follow along. and if not don't hesitate to ask.
For now I would recommend you have a look at these:

And watching the video tutorials migh help get you comfortable with the Inventory UI, make sure to watch the MoveItemAction video:

Thank you!
I've already watched the video tutorials, and they are super handy.
I will post my progress into this thread incase someone else will be interested in the future.

Ok, I think I've found the solution. I can add additional Item View Drop Action Set, specify Condition and Action and here we go, the front end for this is ready.