item views aren't showing?

slammato

hello,

i'm attempting to rebuild the integration demo's inventory ui in my project. it seems like a good enough place to start, and i like the BoTW setup. i've attempted to copy the settings from the integration demo scene(which i have open in a separate project for reference). i'm still learning the UIS, and while helpful, the tutorial videos don't really line up with copying any schemas nor working with the integration. i hear that's getting worked on(yay!). i will try to be detailed, but very likely will miss something.
but anyways, i could use some help. i know it is a lot of things, but they all seem related:

i have a few issues:
-i only vaguely understand the "main menu" concept, and it isn't really touched on in the videos or documentation.
-can’t drag from inventory into equipment. it works inside the inventory grid, but not inside the equipment grid. as per the "classic" schema, i have both inventory and equipment on the same parented "My Inventory Grid Panel".
-equip view slots don’t show equipment, they don't appear to work at all actually.
-first item i pick up in inventory disappears, leaves an empty view slot.
-item icons disappear on interaction, they don't show attribute values.
-items don’t show proper icons, just opsive logo. ie, no sword showing the icon i put in the definition for sword.
-all the red errors (there are 51, but i think this is all the unique ones.)
-i know a fair amount of these errors are from me leaving the normal UCC weapons in my scene from before the integration. i have them as placeholders to save values for when i need to replace them. i'm not sure how much they are messing things up.

Screen Shot 2021-04-01 at 8.03.13 PM.png

well.... FML. i actually went line by line through the editor comparing my setup to the demo. was it worth it? not really. i still have the same issues.