Import a fully configured Nolan character?

lledden

Is there a way to import a 'fully equipped' Nolan character with all the default demo items (weapons, behaviors, and animation) into a project. I need to prototype game mechanics and just want default behaviors and weapons to work with. I have spent some time trying to follow the setup guidelines, but it seems complex and kind of hard to follow. So far I've had to start over multiple times without actually being able to make progress on my task.

Indeed this would be a nice thing to have. I'm still learning this but below is what I'm using.
One thing you can do is make a prefab of Nolan from the demo scene and then use that in your scene. You'll also need to do the manager and camera setup. Finally add the weaponPickup prefabs next to your character and off you go.

I appreciate your response. I've worked through page 22 of the Setup guide to setup item types and items and have an assault rifle showing in the scene setup which is properly oriented to the player's hand with animation controller attached. When I hit play, Nolan moves properly, but the weapon doesn't show, there seems to be no weapon selector UI function and I don't see where to go next in the setup guide. Any suggestions. Does the Setup Guide say what to do next, I can't seem to find it. Thanks in advance for any help.

The general weapon setup is best explained in either the first or third person item creation videos:

But if you are having equip problems here's a checklist of troubleshooting topics that you can go through: