Idiots Guide to moving

DaveMorgan

Hi,

Total newbie here.

Been playing with Behaviour Designer today on an existing project.

Have a very simple tree I created from this (
) tutorial which sort of works in my environment.

Issues I am having are:

"Moving Towards" never ends. Most likely this is due to the object the AI is moving towards is obstructed hence a collider is stopping it. The example I have is an AI moving to an appliance within a kitchen area. They can get close to the appliance, but never actually reach it (due to it being on another solid object). How would you deal with this sort of case? Is there a "close enough" method?

The next challenge I have is with the animations. The NavMeshAgent appears to be picking up the speed etc from Behaviour Designer because I have tested it with different speeds, BUT the AI doesnt turn nor animate - only slides. The only other components I have left on the character are a rigidbody a capsule collider and the animator itself (with apply root motion selected).

Other AI's in the scene are exactly the same but running on an "simulation AI script" and move correctly. Its this script I'm actually seeking to deprecate.

Any help appreciated!

"Moving Towards" never ends. Most likely this is due to the object the AI is moving towards is obstructed hence a collider is stopping it. The example I have is an AI moving to an appliance within a kitchen area. They can get close to the appliance, but never actually reach it (due to it being on another solid object). How would you deal with this sort of case? Is there a "close enough" method?
Move Towards doesn't use pathfinding so I would instead use the Seek task. This will then allow you to correctly avoid objects.