Global variables of type GameObject

leissler

As a developer, I was fiddling around with BD and the source package installed, trying to grasp the possibilities this product opens up.
At one point I saw that the Global Variables live in a serialized asset file. Nevertheless, it seems possible to have global variables of reference types into the scene graph (e.g. GameObject reference).
Does that even make sense? I tried around a bit and it seems to work while the scene is loaded. As soon as I load another scene the reference obviously gets destroyed. I would think it makes sense to simply remove global reference types, as I don't see a use-case for it. Scene reference types in Behavior-Tree parameters (variables) make sense because they are overridden in the scene for each instance of an (external) behavior tree.

Also: How is memory management for instanced behavior trees, like when I attach the same external BT to different GameObjects in a scene. Do they get unloaded when I change the scene and re-loaded when the scene is loaded again? Are they intelligently cached somehow?

Thanks in advance for any insights from this developer perspective.

Did this question make sense, or did I misformulate it? Maybe expressed in a too complicated way.

I'd just like to know two things regarding BD:
- What is an exemplary use case for having global variables of type GameObject, since they reference a scene that is potentially not loaded?
- How are (external) Behavior Trees treated memory-wise? When are they loaded and unloaded from memory?

Hope that makes my points more clear.

Looks like I missed this one.

You are not able to reference scene-objects from an asset file. You can reference prefabs or other asset files, but not scene files. As an alternative you can reference the GameObject at runtime:

When are they loaded and unloaded from memory?