Custom Item Restriction for Two Handed Weapons

AlexM

Hi! The script you made for the UCC integration that helps weapon equips go to the correct character slots is working perfectly.

My problem now is that I want to have Two Handed weapons (Longswords, Bows, etc.) to be mutually exclusive with One Handed weapons. Each type of weapon inherits a specific category (WeaponBoth for Two Hand, WeaponEither for One Hand). I decided to try making my own custom Item Restriction, making it so that when the player has one weapon type equipped, equipping the other weapon type will replace it. Currently, it just equips both types at once.

Unfortunately, I'm not a good programmer. I'm a bit confused on what to actually do here. I was using the ItemRestrictionSetObject script for reference, but it honestly left me feeling more overwhelmed. I was wondering if you could help break down the structure of the script, so I could understand it a little better. Or if you had an idea of how to solve this problem without writing code. I usually use Playmaker for scripting because it's easier for me to understand, and I have tried using it for this. It seems too limited to solve this problem, though.

Any help would be very appreciated. I really need to get better at C# ?

This page explains how to make custom ItemRestrictions. All you need is a class that inherits the IItemRestirction interface:

If you do the class will appear as an option within the itemRestrictionSetObject inspector. Check the ItemCollectionStackSizeRestriction or ItemCollectionCategoryRestriction for reference.

Trying to restrict the inventory without writing code or using play maker isn't really possible unless the solution already exists built-in the system.

Note that restriction are meant to prevent you from adding or removing items. They should NOT be used to replace items.
If you want to Equip the Bow, and replace the Sword then you should take another approach.