Behavior Tree Stops Unexpectedly

kcclark23

Hi,

I'm new to BD and I'm sure there are much better ways of doing what I want, but for my purposes this simple tree works okay, for about 5 minutes. I have some teams and I want them to seek resources that I have instantiating on the map. When the teams come into contact with one another, their highest priority should be to eliminate the other team which they do for about 5 minutes until they eventually stop moving, or just endlessly jitter around which is the case in the image I've attached.

I've tried probably a dozen different variations of very simple trees but they always tend to do the same thing. I assume they lose their target, but I find it odd that it works so seamlessly for a few minutes until it just doesn't. I've attached a couple images of what's going on. The tree that I posted shows that the Attack task is still being executed but also shows that it's complete. I've tried it with and without a Repeater which seems to change the way it executes but not the outcome. I'm also not fully confident with Conditional Aborts yet, so I've tried moving them around to see the outcome (as you can see, I have one on damn near every Composite node). I've debated re-scripting everything by hand or in Playmaker but I'd really rather not do that since everything I need is built into BD already. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Another random technical question. I want to make the tactical movements a bit more true to real life once I get all the other little technical stuff worked out. Is there a way that anyone knows of to get the agents to fire while in formation, fire while moving during "Marching Fire", and while bounding ("Leapfrog"), in that the rear portion of a fire-team provides covering fire while the forward team moves? I'm assuming I would have to code a lot of this myself, but I didn't know if there was an easy workaround.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Attachments